Posted by: holmark | January 10, 2009

Say YES!

Christian holiness is not (as people often imagine) a matter of denying something good.  It is about growing up and grasping something even better.

                                                 –Bishop N.T. Wright in Simply Christian

 

I grew up in a religious system that said no to most everything.  No to dancing.  No to musical instruments in Church.  No to alcohol.  No to women saying a prayer out loud.  No to going in a bar.  No to smoking.  No to mixed (boys and girls at the same time) swimming.  And while a few of the no’s were well advised, such blanket prohibition promoted a rather dour view of life.  (I have written in other places that religious and political conservatives seem to be the saddest, most fearful, angriest, most punitive and vengeful people on earth.  I need only read the “Letters” section of my local newspaper to be reminded.) 

 

For the first 30 or so years of my life, I was one of the no-sayers, supporting and promoting the same religious system that closed my mind to what God might want to show me about this wonderful world.  Such legalism might explain my ulcer at age 22.  I really don’t know what snapped me out of it, but as I have aged, I have (with God’s help) overcome that legalistic, guilt-ridden, fearful and pessimistic perspective.

 

Especially in the last 10 years or so, I have a new appreciation for what life has to offer.  And what a great world this is, if you open your eyes, heart and mind to see, hear, smell, touch and taste it!  (The warning here is to not over-indulge.  The “sin” in the Bible when it comes to consumables seems to be, not in the partaking, but in the over-partaking.)  An example:  A few days ago, I started back to work after more than 2 months recovering from knee replacement surgery.  Ordinarily, getting up at 4:30 AM, going out into the cold, and engaging in work should be a real downer.  And while I won’t call it fun, it was exhilarating—especially when the sun came up around 6:15 AM.  That set the mood for the entire day.  And most days are like that.  Had I focused on the mild discomfort, I would have missed it all.

 

I wish I could explain the turn-around in my attitude.  Perhaps it’s a matter of getting away from the generally negative messages of religion.  Maybe it’s the growing set of new relationships with those who live a freer life than many of my religious friends.  Maybe I’ve grown wiser.  (No, that couldn’t be it.)  Maybe it’s seeing through all the lies I was taught in Church about what God approves/disapproves of.  (I must acknowledge the influence my two Gen Y sons, good boys who live life to the full, pursue personal dreams and love with abandon.  Oh, and they both have dogs.)

 

Life is too short to live fearfully and regretfully.  I did that too long.  I want to finish out my days fully aware of the wonders before me.  I want to see every person I encounter as the miracle he/she is.  I want to experience that perfect Sunday brunch, Mai Tai, western sunset, body massage, bluegrass harmony, latte and rose.  And I want to die grateful to God for the many gifts he prepared just for me.

 

I’ll strive to make 2009 a year of YES!  Yes to opportunities.  Yes to people in need.  Yes to family.  Yes to it all!

 

L’chai-im!


Responses

  1. Great, great post. Sometimes I feel robbed of many years of joy, and many relationships with other believers because of that same religious system.

    Liked both quotes from “Simply Christian.” Jeff has to read it for a class he is taking. I considered it for a textbook for a class I taught at Harding last year, but went with a McLaren book instead.

    I’m looking forward to reading it.

  2. Thanks, Tim. As thankful as I am for the many wonderful relationships I have found among believers, I know that I have missed out on many, many wonderful relationships among not-yet-believers because I was duped into believing that I couldn’t be friends with those who don’t believe as I do.

  3. I think we both read the same paper. I think both sides are pretty angry. I have a problem when people deny respect for those for whom they differ. There is one poster in particular that comes to my mind. His handle is Obama2008. He seems a bit possessed at times, and it has become difficult to take him seriously. It’s tough to talk about politics and religion.

  4. Steve,
    One of the many reasons I love the Holt family is exactly for the “Yes” attitude. I cannot tell you the major difference in my life since Mitch entered. Dreams are reality and positivity is constant. All of you live the same way, with an obvious purpose and with great joy. The 5 of you (that includes Chrissy) are a few of THE most encouraging and inspiring I have encountered thus far in my life.

  5. Always great to hear from you, Richard. Still on that stationary bike?

    Wow, Lindy. What an encouraging comment. We kinda like you too!

  6. Oh how we’ve missed the mark on so many levels! My mom often asked why I get so angry when we debate these wonderful non essential Christian issues…It’s just that! We’ve wasted time we could be doing so much more!


Leave a comment

Categories